Eggs are very valuable and tasty feed. The protein is particularly high quality and the composition of the amino acids (protein building blocks) is ideal. Eggs contain many sulphurous amino acids and are also very low in purine. Eggs, or at least the egg white, should best be fed cooked, because raw egg white contains on the one hand a trypsin inhibitor, which impairs protein digestion, and on the other hand avidin, also known as "anti-vitamin H", which binds biotin. Both substances are heat-labile and are inactivated by cooking.

Egg yolks are particularly rich in fat and contain many essential fatty acids (especially linoleic acid), fat-soluble vitamins (vitamins A and D) and biotin. The good old saying that one raw egg yolk a week makes the coat shine is therefore no coincidence.  

Eggshells also have it all, because they are the most calcium-rich feed there is. The calcium content varies between 36 and 40%. The calcium is present as inorganic calcium carbonate and is very readily available for dogs and cats.

Eier sind sehr wertvolle und schmackhafte Futtermittel. Das Eiweiß ist besonders hochwertig und die Zusammensetzung der Aminosäuren (Eiweißbausteine) ideal. Eier enthalten viele schwefelhaltige Aminosäuren und sind außerdem sehr purinarm. Eier, zumindest das Eiklar sollten am besten gegart gefüttert werden, denn rohes Eiklar enthält einerseits einen Trypsinhemmstoff, der die Eiweißverdauung beeinträchtigt, und andererseits Avidin, auch als „Anti-Vitamin H“ bekannt, welches Biotin bindet. Beide Stoffe sind hitzelabil und werden durchs Kochen inaktiviert.

Das Eigelb ist besonders fettreich und enthält viele essentielle Fettsäuren (v.a. Linolsäure), fettlösliche Vitamine (Vitamin A und D) und Biotin. Die gute alte Weisheit, dass ein rohes Eigelb pro Woche für einen schönen Fellglanz sorgt kommt somit nicht von ungefähr.  

Auch die Eierschalen haben es in sich, denn sie sind das calciumreichste Futtermittel, das es gibt. Der Calciumgehalt schwankt zwischen 36 und 40%. Das Calcium liegt als anorganisches Calciumcarbonat vor und ist für Hunde und Katzen sehr gut verfügbar.